Location : Home > Focal Areas > MEAs Implementation > Climate_Change
UNFCCC and Kyoto Protocol

China signed the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change on June 11, 1992 at the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. On January 5, 1993, the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress of the People’s Republic of China ratified the Convention, and China became one of the first parties not operating under Annex I of the Convention. In May 1998, China signed the Kyoto Protocol and ratified the Protocol in August 2002.

The Government of China has consistently paid careful attention to climate change issues over the past years. In 1990, the Government set up the National Coordination Committee on Climate Change (NCCCC) under the Environmental Protection Commission of the State Council. In 2007, the State Council set up the National Leading Group on Climate Change, with Premier Wen Jiabao as the Group Leader and the top officials from related ministries and commissions as the members. The office of the Leading Group was placed under the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC). In June 2007, China promulgated the Country Program for Addressing Climate Change.

In addressing the climate change, FECO established a special working group in 2003 and started to conduct policy studies, to provide technical support to MEP, to assist the enterprises to develop CDM projects, and to conduct market-oriented consultancy services on policies and technologies in the field of mitigation and adaption to climate change. Up till now, FECO has successfully developed a series of CDM projects with total GHGs emission reduction accounting for over 20% of the total reduction registered in the world.

Foreign Economic Cooperation Office, Ministry of Environmental Protection of China
5 Houyingfang Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, P.R. China, Postal Code: 100035, Tel: +86-10-82268810, Fax: +86-10-82200510